The American Psychiatric Association (APA) Is recognizing Debbie R. Carter, MD, School of Medicine, with the 2014 Jeanne Spurlock Minority Fellowship Achievement Award.

This award acknowledges the achievements of former fellows of the Minority Fellowships who have made (or are making) significant contribution(s) to the profession and/or the minority community by working toward the elimination of racial and ethnic disparities in mental health and substance abuse care. Carter serves as co-chair of the CU Denver l CU Anschutz Faculty and Staff Multicultural Affairs Committee

Carter has received many awards in her career serving minority communities and children through psychiatry, including the Dane Prough Award Distinguished Teaching in Child Psychiatry in 2003 and the Clinician of the Year Award from Mental Health Association of Colorado in 1997.

CU in the City logo