Faculty awards lunch
October 8, 2018

University administrators honored 35 faculty members on Oct. 5 for their exceptional work in supporting CU Denver’s top mission: student success. The annual Celebration of Faculty Excellence Awards luncheon recognizes those who stand out in teaching, research, leadership, service and creative activities.

Faculty members standing in a row
And the winners are (from left to right): Bassem Hassan, senior instructor in the Department of Political Science; Yail Jimmy Kim, professor in the College of Engineering and Applied Science; Catalin Grigoras, director of the National Center for Media Forensics; Gary Olson, senior instructor in the Department of Mathematical & Statistical Sciences; Dawn Gregg, professor in the Business School; Storm Gloor, associate professor in the Department of Music and Entertainment Industry Studies; Katy DiVittorio, acquisitions librarian in the Auraria Library; and Gillian Silverman, associate professor in the Department of English.

Chancellor Dorothy Horrell welcomed the awardees filling the Terrace Room of the Lawrence Street Center for the fall 2018 event, noting that student success inside and outside of the university’s walls reflects directly on the exceptional faculty.

“Your teaching and research are the foundation to creating a world-class student experience that supports our number one strategic priority of student success,” she said, commending all faculty for remaining competitive, particularly in their research roles. “It’s what sets us apart in providing our students with high-quality academics coupled with real-world experience.”

The honorees, who included an outstanding librarian and a faculty mentor, are nominated and selected by their colleagues, making the event even more meaningful, Horrell said. “You all should feel a great sense of pride knowing that your recognition is a reflection of your peers’ opinion of your work.”

Bob speaks
Bob Damrauer, who wears many hats in his job, presented the faculty members with their awards in the absence of the provost.

Horrell acknowledged Gillian Silverman, associate professor of English and director of Women’s and Gender Studies in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, for receiving the prestigious President’s Teaching Scholars award. The chancellor also thanked Bob Damrauer, special assistant to the provost, associate vice chancellor for research, and professor of chemistry, who presented the awards traditionally presented by Provost Rod Nairn. Nairn was out of town.


CU in the City logo